The Friends of Fort George
Located in the historic town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Fort George was the headquarters of the Centre Division of the British Army during the War of 1812, and played a key role in the defence of Upper Canada. Fort George is open weekends November to April, and seven days a week from May to October, offering visitors an opportunity to step back in time with tours, musket demonstrations, special exhibits, costumed staff and reconstructed buildings. Throughout the summer, the 41st Regiment of Foot Fife and Drum Corps and Infantry provide daily demonstrations, bringing the early history of Niagara to life!
The Friends of Fort George is a non-profit organization that works in partnership with Parks Canada to preserve and promote the heritage of Niagara National Historic Sites. Through special events and the operation of two gift shops, the Friends of Fort George generate awareness and funds to support summer student employment at Fort George and Brock's Monument at Queenston Heights.
Canada Day at Fort George
July 1, 2013
Celebrate Canada Day in Niagara-on-the-Lake and Fort George! Festivities will take place all day, and admission to Fort George is free! More info.
Fife & Drum Muster and Soldiers' Field Day
August 18 - 19, 2013
Two days of military period musical performances and early 19th century military demonstrations. More info.
Echoes of Niagara's Past
August 24 - 25, 2013
Commemorating the military history of Niagara, from the American Revolution to modern times. More info.